Diversity & Inclusion Professionals

Annual Leadership in Diversity & Inclusion Awards

Each year, DAIP recognizes organizations and individuals who champion the values of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Our community gathers each fall for our Annual Leadership in Diversity & Inclusion Awards Reception (click here for details on this year’s event) to explore timely and trending DEI topics and honor our winners.

As in previous years, we’ll recognize an Individual Award Winner and an Organizational Award Winner. In 2023, DAIP will also select the first annual Linda Newton Legacy Award Winner to honor a seasoned DEI leader with 20+ years of experience (formally or informally) who embodies the legacy of DAIP’s founder, Linda Newton. For over 30 years, Linda has been a trailblazer who shaped the DEI landscape in the region, and today she is still shaping future generations of DEI leaders through leadership development, coaching, mentoring, and community service involvement. Recipients of this award should embody the characteristics outlined in the bulleted list below, have an impressive depth of professional and community service experience, and be seen as a role model and mentor for others.

What are we looking for in nominees?

  • Inspires a sense of belonging and support within their sphere of influence.
  • Recognizes and celebrates the presence of differences within their business, organization or community. This can mean differences in race, color, religion, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, age, protected status, or any number of things.
  • Creates an inclusive culture in their workplace or community by challenging inequities, barriers, and bias.
  • Empowers folks in their organization and their community to work towards the goals of diversity and inclusion.

Do you know a local organization
or individual that should be recognized?

Nomination form closes on Tuesday, August 15th.
Click here to view the nomination form questions.

Do you know a local organization or individual that should be recognized?

Fill out the nomination form below!

Step 1 of 4

Recent Award Winners

2022 Individual Award Winner:

Angela Bannerman Ankoma

Angela Bannerman Ankoma
Vice President, Executive Director at Rhode Island Foundation

For supporting, empowering, and inspiring a sense of belonging within her sphere of influence. For providing opportunities and access to BIPOC communities across Rhode Island. For leading the Rhode Island Foundation’s Equity Leadership Initiative (ELI) to nurture a community of leaders and create an inclusive environment. For her ability to disrupt in the DEI space when injustice is faced in the community, and for 25 years of service in a variety of professional roles challenging inequities, barriers, and biases.

2022 Organizational Award Winner:

Amos House

Eileen Hayes
President/CEO at Amos House

For making incredible strides to provide basic needs to Rhode Island’s most desperate communities during the pandemic. For serving as a statewide leader in addressing food insecurity with 159 member agencies, including food pantries, meal sites, shelters, youth programs, and senior centers.

Past Award Winners

2021 Winners:

Individual Award Winner

Nina Pande (CEO of Skills for Rhode Island’s Future)

Organizational Award Winner

Rhode Island Community Food Bank

2020 Winners:

Individual Award Winner

Dr. Nicole Alexander Scott (Rhode Island Department of Health)

Organizational Award Winner

Providence Promise

2019 Winners:

Individual Award Winner

Ethan Huckel (Huckel Inclusive)

Organizational Award Winner

Sojourner House

2018 Winners:

Organizational Award Winner

Dorcas International Institute of Rhode Island

2017 Winners:

Individual Award Winner

Vanessa Flores-Maldonado
(Providence Community Police Relations Act)

Organizational Award Winner

Robert A. DiMuccio (Amica Mutual Insurance Company)

2016 Winners:

Individual Award Winner

Dr. Jodi Glass (Rhode Island for Community and Justice)

Individual Award Winner

Lucy Rios (RI Coalition Against Domestic Violence)

Organizational Award Winner

Year Up